Eve of Tuesday 2021

It’s the start of another new school year, and it’s the start of another new adventure. I feel fortunate to have been welcomed into a new school community, and tomorrow I will welcome students and staff as a vice-principal to the first day of the year. There is so much to learn. There are check-lists, tasks, priorities. Yet there are also stories. Oh, so importantly, there are stories.

Two of the goals I have – stay focused on what matters, and watch for the togetherness of stories.

Many previous posts identified the important things that matter. Kindness, collaboration, caring, community, reconciliation, family, health.

As for story… I have many thoughts, and those might have to wait for future writing. For now though, I’ll leave the words of Richard Wagamese below. I was gifted this text in a frame from a friend and colleague – for which I am very grateful – and one of the first things to hang in my office.

Take good care as we move forward tomorrow, together, listening, sharing, and taking time together.

IR

This was the 15th annual Labour Day post.

2 thoughts on “Eve of Tuesday 2021

Leave a comment