Mount Kenya

Reflecting on time in Nanyuki July 30-Aug 3, and arrival in Gilgil, Aug 3.

Growing up next to the ocean, as well as spending the summers of my youth at the foot of one of the world’s greatest mountain ranges led to an attraction that still survives. Whenever I catch a glimpse of ocean, or magnificent mountains I get caught up. While I only spent a few days in Nanyuki, every opportunity I had to gaze at Mount Kenya I grasped. During tea breaks in our Train the Trainer sessions I would steal away for a few moments to look out across a corn field, and hope that the clouds would break for an unobstructed view.

No television monitor, no touch screen, no wifi, no smart phone, and something my camera could not properly capture, yet it kept me fully occupied.

During my experiences in Kenya last year I was taken with its diversity. I have been fortunate on this second sojourn to have been exposed to new places, and meet new people, and to have been exposed to an even greater diversity – a true strength of Kenya. Seeing Mount Kenya also reminded me of the diversity of British Columbia, and how much I cherish my time in the mountains there. Thus, while I have been having fantastic experiences, it was in Nanyuki that I felt a twinge of longing for some serious physical activity at a bit of altitude. So, one adventure leads one’s mind to thinking of future adventures. That is probably the sign of a good adventure – at least I will take it as such.

We left Nanyuki on August 3rd and travelled through an incredibly different terrain than that around Mount Kenya. Drier, grass landscapes, and single trees spotted a view that had it’s own unquestionable qualities of beauty. We returned to where I spent most of my time last year, Gilgil. The peaks and ridges of this region are impressive in their own right. While the time with new friends in Nanyuki was all too quick, it was fantastic to reconnect with old friends in Gilgil. It was an intense opening three days with the trainers in Gilgil. There was much discussion and debate, and very little electricity. I wholeheartedly valued the working time, and the reflection time. The time indoors also made me look forward with intensity to some serious time outside, and perhaps in the mountains before too long.

Almost Clear

Mt. Kenya through Trees

Leave a Reply

