Happy Thanksgiving 2011

My favourite holiday has once again risen to the occasion. I have spent time with family, friends, playing hockey, being involved in youth sports, being active outside in BC, and generally doing a lot of smiling and laughing. This is a fairly decent list of my top favourite things, and the things I am most thankful for. (There’s also been a fair amount of good food). 🙂

It has been wonderful to talk with others about what they are thankful for, and share time with those who have inspiring gratitude and values. I am so very appreciative of my family and friends that make me a better person each and every day. Even when I adventure and take risks “alone” I carry their support and guidance with me – and I am eternally grateful.

This year in particular I am very thankful for the location I live in. The west coast of British Columbia, Canada, is a beautiful area. While I will not claim that life here is perfect for all of its inhabitants – it is spot that is, thankfully, able to offer so much to so many people, in so many ways: physical activity, culture, social programs, education, nature, and so much more. It is a region that strives to improve as well. While this growth is not without its challenges, overall I have no doubts we are moving in positive directions for the most part, and I am very thankful.

I am thankful to my parents and family who instilled in me at a young age to capitalize on what this region has to offer, and I am thankful for amazing friends that I continue to share it with.

Hoping you are able to spend time with those you care about.

Merci – 감사합니다  – Asante – Thank you

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving 2011

  1. Happy belated Thanksgiving! I spent it with a group of Canadian-o-philes on the campus of an American university, but hey, I’m thankful for the job at this American university. Miss BC though…

    • Thank you!

      I’m glad you still got to celebrate. Two of my favourite Thanksgivings of all time are those that I spent outside of Canada. When I was in Korea I gathered with a number of other Canadians and we all contributed to a massive dinner, in a small apartment. Years earlier when I was in France, a caring French family held a surprise Thanksgiving dinner for me…. remains a wonderful memory.

      Hope you are able to celebrate American Thanksgiving with caring people and new friends as well!

Leave a Reply

