Summary to Adventure

I was supposed to have written a few posts by now. One need only look at the previous post May 23 to note that I had ambitions of writing about a number of topics. The fifth anniversary of Être ou Avoir passed here without a whimper, and le Tour is now half over and not a word. Instead, I have been out living and preparing, and for that I make no apology – instead I encourage you to do the same. All the same, I have returned as I am perched precariously on the cusp of a new adventure, and adventure is what got this blog started in the first place. Just over five years ago I started writing here for a few reasons (check them here if you’re looking to bore yourself). I attended a monumental wedding, and prepared to cross an ocean. Here I sit, having attended a monumental wedding a week ago and am (somewhat) prepared to cross a different ocean. Thus, this post will serve to make a few connections, summarize some points that could be postings in their own right, act as a catch all, and perhaps prepare me to work on my writing while I am on this next adventure.

Firstly, a public congratulations to two of the most inspiring, and caring people I know: J & L had a wonderful wedding, and it was humbling to be a part of it.

Secondly, multiple chapeaux to the riders who poured it out to make the first part of le Tour so exciting. Namely: Hushovd, Evans, Voekler, Flecha, Sanchez, Sanchez, Cavendish, Farrar…. the list could go on. Of course, it’s been great to see my man Jens toil away with such dedication as well.

Thirdly, I am incredibly excited about the adventure that lies ahead. In less than two hours I will depart for London. Two days later I will fly to Kenya and spend about a month there volunteering with Education Beyond Borders. East Africa has been a dream of mine for a long, long time, but what makes me so very amped – and nervous – about this adventure is the opportunity to work with, and learn from Educators in a culture that is new to me. Publicly voicing this adventure reveals my passion for teacher development. This acknowledgement in this forum is also part of this adventure. I am looking forward to being humbled, learning, growing with others, and hopefully being able to give as well. If all goes well, reflections and summaries will get posted here.

Finally, I am so very appreciative of all the support I have had from family and friends. This past year was a fantastic one – not because it was always easy, on the contrary its challenges and successes combined to make it so fantastic. However, both it, and the run-up to this adventure would not have been possible without the care and support of so many intentional and positive people. Quite simply: Thank you!

I often say that I am beyond fortunate to have so many people in my life that are so caring. That still rings true – but there is also something to be said for being in this together, and there is most definitely a post on that topic waiting in the future.

Hear from you soon no doubt,
A bientôt
IR

Leave a Reply

