Philosophawesomeness Writing

The conclusion of The Republic:

“And so, Glaucon, the tale was saved from perishing; and if we will listen, it may save us, and all will be well when we cross the river of Lethe. Also we shall not defile our souls; but, if you will believe me that the soul is immortal and able to endure all good and ill, we shall keep always to the upward way and in all things pursue justice with the help of wisdom. Then we shall be at peace with Heaven and with ourselves, both during our sojourn here and when, like victors in the Games collecting gifts from their friends, we receive the prize of justice; and so, not here only, but in the journey of a thousand years of which I have told you, we shall fare well.” – Plato, 380 BCE.

It is with these words that Plato draws to a close one of the greatest works of all time. I mean, honestly, who writes like this? If I could write half as well as this I certainly would not be left wanting, as am I tonight, as I look back on a piece that I’ve written for submission tomorrow. We rush through our thoughts and don’t realize that in so doing, they are likely someone elses. If we try to put them into print too often we butcher it and leave it without substance.

If nothing else I’m a better person for having read the above, and guess what? Now so are you! In the end, you just gotta let it go, man, let ‘er go. That’s what I’ve done, and I’m more than happy to be done with it.

I like wisdom. I like justice. I say let’s go for it, and I do believe “we shall fare well.” I smile. 🙂 Shall we start the holidays?

Leave a Reply

