Construction, Power, Thunder and Cycling

Constructing, as in social-historical constructivism. Power, as in who has it, where it comes from and how it should be used. Thunder that accompanied the amazing hours long lightning storm I was lucky enough to take in this evening. All overseen by the thoughts and visions of cyclists that fuel procrastination so well.

Amongst all of this I am beginning to wonder where the balance is? It’s at times like these when we may feel unbalanced when we should ask ourselves if that is really the case. I am fortunate enough to have the time to take in a lightning storm with no worries about where I will sleep tonight or where my next meal will come from. I have the luxury of modern technology to help generate and organize my thoughts about social-historical constructivism and power. I easily engage in the extravagance of following a race half a world away, in depth. Any stress I make a claim to right now are completely self created, with the exception that my tools to create it and deal with it socially and historically acquired. (Try that one on for size).

Thus, is it worth asking ourselves sometimes, whether or not we are actually unbalanced, or are we balanced, but realizing that we might need to readjust the fulcrum? There’s nothing wrong with having the fulcrum in different spots at times. I can think of a number of ways to justify where it is right now personally, and I am certainly not here to gripe, or complain about where it is. I’m only here to recognize that its placing is my doing, and to share that thought – for your thoughts. Take it or leave it as you wish. In the end, this outlook, my sense of balance, and my fulcrum placement are (again) constructed, and yours may be constructed differently.

Now, for what you really came here for: I’m forced to pick Cavendish for a win on les Champs-Elysées. I’ll be pulling for Tyler Farrar though.

Leave a Reply

