Happy Thanksgiving

This weekend figures more in my mind each passing year. If I think carefully I don’t know where to start though. Where do you begin to express gratitude when you are healthy, the people you care about are healthy, you have a roof over your head, and you don’t go hungry? Searching thoughtfully for the focus of my appreciation shuffles me back and forth, yet there is one constant in my considerations: relationships. There is so much that I can, and should be thankful for, and relationships are intertwined or foundational throughout.

Earlier this year, due to a bit of personal significance, I asked friends to tell me about adventures and challenges they were taking on. I wanted to be able to support them. I have done alright with some, and can continue to do better with others. The point of connecting it here; I am thankful to know so many amazing, caring, determined, and intentional people. I should tell them more often that I appreciate who they are. In some way they all make me a better person. I know every now and then a few of them read here, one of them might be you, and you deserve a Thanksgiving post inclusive of you. So, from a person who is thankful of many relationships…

I am thankful to be a member of a family that strives to put each other first.
I am thankful to be a member of a family that strives to move forward with care and is incredibly supportive.
I am thankful to be friends with people who share and include me in their growth.
I am thankful to be friends with people who share and include me in their children’s growth.
I am thankful to be friends with people who care.
I am thankful to be friends with people who listen, are honest, and are supportive.
I am thankful to be friends with people spread over the world, but make it a point to stay connected and nourish our friendship.
I am thankful to be colleagues with people who care, help others before themselves, and are dedicated to the most noble of causes. (I am thankful to be colleagues with people I call friends).
I am thankful to be teammates with people who play sports for friendship and growth.
I am thankful for the many relationships I have each Monday to Friday that make me laugh, humble me, inspire me, make me feel purposeful, and give me hope & joy.

I am thankful for the so very many relationships in my life that bring me hope, joy and love. You know if you are one – and you deserve the thanks.

I started writing the above list by saying “I am thankful to have…”. Considering the conundrum at the heart of this blog, I decided to go with to be instead. At another time, this wording could be worth an entry.

I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving, and that you are able to spend it with people you care about, and are thankful for. At the least, I hope you are able to connect with those you care about and those who care about you.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING

p.s. – secondary pages, from the About page to Currently to Doc Quest have all received small updates.

I guess I should also say: Thanks for reading.

Merci

One thought on “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving 2010 « Être ou Avoir

Leave a Reply

