Who’s Next?

While I knew it was coming, it didn’t make it any less disappointing. Anyone that didn’t think big names were going to be named missed the gigantic flashing neon writing on the wall. Still, the recent progression of announcements finally began to crush my passion for cycling. First Basso with the whole “I planned but never did” confession. Admittedly this was the easiest to come to terms with. The legendary sprinter Zabel and his long time teammate Aladag’s confessions certainly upped the shock value. But then, a tour champion dethrones himself. CSC has been my favourite team for some time. Being a fan of a team that seemed to be such a class act helped ease the sting of individual cheats within the sport. But when CSC’s owner and manager, Bjarne Riis, announced he won the tour while doping I finally felt slightly cheated personally. I am well aware that it is a business, that sponsors, companies and money run the sport, and that I shouldn’t pin expectations to professional entertainers. Only, it’s easier said than done. There are absolutely no surprises now, only a matter of time before it all finally comes out.

Honestly, for the first time in, since I don’t know when, I’m not looking forward to the Tour. Perhaps my attitude will change in the next few weeks, but the passion will never be the same.

Leave a Reply

